40.18.3, (c) 2010-12 Shundra L. Moore a.k.a web.evangel, all rights reserved

Tough Cookies – Acts 19:11-20


Tough Cookies - Acts 19:11-20

Unnamed Antagonist 

So where is the dough? Kenwright. 

You have to tell me where you guys hid the money or we will be here all day.  I'll untie you after you spill the beans.

Kenwright

The beans are in the cubbord on the left. But I'm not telling you anything, besides you know everything I know. Anyway its a long story.

Unnamed Antagonist

I told you I'm not going anywhere until you tell me where the money is hidden.

Kenwright

Ok you asked for it.

There where certain sons of a Jewish High priest. They found a demon possessed woman she was severely tormented.

Unnamed Antagonist

Wait just a minute. I don't want to hear a folk tale I want to know about the money.

Kenwright

There is no money. Not the kind you are looking for. Just stories that lead to true riches. Some true some just as true in principle. So

do you want to know how we hide meaning in the story or not.

Unnamed Antagonist

You mean to tell me there is no money. How are you livin? Don't you have to eat.




Kenwright

I'm full and I usually stay that way. I don't skip a meal unless I want to. It's not that kind of food that sustains a human being anyway.




Unnamed Antagonist

I'm confused? You live in this house and have your fill of food and there is no exchange of money?




Kenwright 

 Its not about the money that you spend at the store. And No the local store won't just take my word that will pay them for the food. But like I

said its not about the money. Do you want to know my secret or not?




Unnamed Antagonist

You mean to tell me you think I'm going to sit still while you tell me a folk tale. This is a bunch of nonsense. How bout I just kill you
right now and go on my way.

Kenwright

Then you are going to go on your dangerous road and meet your self at the end of it.

Unnamed Antagonist

I'm not going to meet anyone who is going to pay me back for what I do to you. But even if I do. What does that matter anyway. You live and 


learn. I'm the master of my own fate. I do what I want, when I want, and how I want. So you can stop trying to convert me to your way of 


thinking. I'm my own god.

Kenwright

Ok so grant my dying wish. I want to tell you a story.

Unnamed Antagonist

 I had no intention of killing you. That is until you told me there was no money. You could have lied. You know I what I wanted and that I would

not be happy without the cash. You could have lied.




Kenwright

Well that would negate my point. 




Unnamed Antagonist

Which is?




Kenwright

Well for that you would have to hear the story.

Unnamed Antagonist

Why don't I just kill you now?




Kenwright

Because you don't want to. If you did I would be dead already.

Unnamed Antagonist

Ok so you have a point, tell me the story and make it quick. Looks like I will need to get going as soon as possible, someone is going to
miss you soon.

Kenwright

There was this Rabbi and his sons. The sons of this Sceva stumbled upon a certain man. He was full of evil spirits. They decided he needed 


religion. So they told him the Gospel and tried to convert him to Christianity. The certain man said the prayer and they left. They came back 


to check on him. He was still full of demons. So they told him why he was tormented. He didn't believe enough. This is the only reason why he 


was still bound. The demons spoke back and said. He believes you. But he doesn't know your Rabbi.




Unnamed Antagonist

What does that mean?

Kenwright

I will answer your question after you answer mine. What is your name anyway? You have bound me up and put me in this chair and demanded 


payment from me.

Unnamed Antagonist

Self Righteousness. So I have answered you now you will answer me. What does that mean? You have no payment and I have changed my 


mind. I will kill you now. Unless you pay me now.

Kenwright

Jesus, please don't you have a heart. I told you I can't pay you.

Self Righteousness. Exactly.

All Kenwright could do is say the sinners prayer. He was sure that he was going to die. What else should he do? He couldn't think of anything

else. So he quoted Paul. And waited for the death blow. I have finished the "good" fight. I have kept the faith. I have finished my course. Self Righteousness killed him. He woke up in Hell
unbound and free looking at Self Righteousness. 


Kenwright.

What's this? I am a Christian. 





Self Righeousness

You weren't on the list. All I have is your resume. Listing what you have done In Jesus name. Sorry, its not enough.

Kenwright

I'm at a loss for words. Is there anything I can do? 





Self Righteousness

No.
Its to late. You couldn't do anything to deserve this. By the way I'm still confused. Did you really think you could save yourself?

Leave a comment